SPACE AND RECOVERY SYSTEMS

ENTRY, DESCENT AND LANDING SYSTEMS (EDLS)

FOURNITURE DE TECHNOLOGIE, D’INNOVATION ET DE SOLUTIONS

aperçu

Airborne Systems est le leader incontesté en matière de conception et de développement des systèmes d’entrée, de descente et d’atterrissage (EDLS) des applications spatiales. Des applications en vol spatial habité aux sondes spatiales ; des parachutes (balistiques et planants) aux décélérateurs aérodynamiques gonflables (IAD) ; et de la récupération dans les airs (MAR) aux systèmes d’atténuation de l’atterrissage et de la flottaison.

Les ingénieurs d’Airborne Systems apportent des compétences techniques incomparables et des capacités innovantes pour fournir des solutions de système de décélération allant des sous-munitions, du personnel, de la livraison des cargos, de lancement aérien et de récupération de grande navette spatiale aux systèmes de récupération en cas de vrille et de décrochage de l’avion.

Airborne Systems propose la gamme la plus chère des services d’ingénierie pour l’amélioration du produit final.

DE L'EXPÉRIENCE

SYSTÈMES SPATIAUX

SYSTÈMES SPATIAUX

Airborne Systems a une grande expérience en matière d’applications spatiales et a le mérite d’avoir mis sur pied le système de récupération de Discoverer 13 (projet Corona), le premier satellite fait par l’homme récupéré de l’orbite le 11 août 1960. Dès lors, Airborne Systems a conçu et développé des systèmes d’entrée, de...
En Savoir Plus
Systèmes de Récupérations

Systèmes de Récupérations

Airborne Systems a une grande expérience et une expertise avérée dans plusieurs applications relatives à la sécurité et l’efficacité des aéronefs, le largage d’armes, de militaires et de cargaisons aux combattants. Les applications d’avion comprennent les systèmes de récupération en cas de vrille ou de décrochage pour les vol d’essai et...
En Savoir Plus
Systèmes Gonflables

Systèmes Gonflables

Nous avons mis au point une gamme variée de produits gonflables, depuis des centaines de milliers de ralentisseurs gonflables BSU-85 produits dans les années 60 jusqu’aux grands ralentisseurs aérodynamiques gonflables mis au point récemment pour la NASA. Cette expérience nous a dotés de capacités notoires pour la conception, l’analyse, le développement...
En Savoir Plus

CAPACITÉS

  • CONCEPTION DES TEXTILES
  • ANALYSE DU SYSTÈME
  • SYSTÈMES DE CONTRÔLE
  • GESTION DU PROGRAMME
  • INGÉNIERIE DES SYSTÈMES
  • CONCEPTION MÉCANIQUE
  • ESSAI DE PRODUIT
  • GRÉEMENT, EMBALLAGE ET SUPPORT TECHNIQUE

CONCEPTION DES TEXTILES

CONCEPTION DES TEXTILES

La conception des textiles est capitale pour le développement de tous nos produits. Nos ingénieurs sont experts dans la conception et la spécification des textiles, notamment la popeline fine, les bandes, les sangles, les cordons, les cordages et les textiles enduits. Airborne Systems est également expert en matière d’assemblage des textiles de tout type afin de créer des structures efficaces pour ces systèmes de parachute faits à base de textiles dynamiques.

Nos ingénieurs travaillant sur les systèmes spatiaux et de récupération utilisent toutes les fibres modernes et les technologies constamment émergentes de l’axe de passage en fibres, tissus, film, mousseline, ainsi que les revêtements.

ANALYSE DU SYSTÈME

ANALYSE DU SYSTÈME

De multiples possibilités de simulation de stress et de simulation structurelle font partie intégrale des services d’ingénierie d’Airborne Systems.

MODÉLISATION ET SIMULATION DE LA TRAJECTOIRE DU PARACHUTE

Il existe de nombreuses possibilités d’analyse lors du modélisation et de la simulation de la trajectoire effectués par Airborne Systems.

 

Que ce soit pour la première ouverture de parachute, l’application de gonflage et de réglage de la trajectoire, le décélérateur dynamique (DCLDYN), Airborne Systems a ses racines d’algorithme originelle datant du programme Apollo. D’importantes fonctionnalités et modifications y ont été apportées au cours des ans. Lors de la simulation de la trajectoire du parachute, Airborne Systems prend en compte tous les termes d’ordre supérieur relatifs à l’ouverture et au gonflage du parachute, notamment :

  • L’aire de traînée du parachute en fonction du temps et les réponses hautement non linéaires.
  • Augmentation de la masse du parachute pendant le gonflage.
  • Aérodynamique de caisse de transport d’ordre supérieur.
  • Une variante qui évalue les événements de réorientation du véhicule.

Modélisation du plancher d’avion pour les applications de livraison aérienne, notamment la simulation du tuyau de la rampe.

Entrées des différentes atmosphères (Terre ou hors de la planète).

Profils des vents

Variations de température/densité

Modélisation du siège éjectable avec calculs d’exposition de l’accélération de vis

Forces d’ouverture pour fusée mortier et fusée tracteur

Modélisation du parachute de freinage lors de l’atterrissage de l’avion

La simulation du parachute de qualité supérieure pour le couplage avec un véhicule de client

Développement d’une simulation de la trajectoire du projet Monte Carlo, appliqué comme script qui réalise la boucle extérieure de l’application de base DCLDYN, cette capacité englobe:

Les données d’entrée du modèle primaire modifiable par l’utilisateur comme :

  • L’aire de traînée du parachute
  • Caractéristiques de gonflage
  • Aérodynamique du véhicule
  • Conditions initiales d’ouverture telles que la vitesse de l’air et la position

Conditions atmosphériques de vol

  • Vents dominants
  • Profil de densité

Analyse des éléments finis des pièces en métal

SYSTÈMES DE CONTRÔLE

Que ce soit pour les essais, la démonstration ou le vol de production, les contrôleurs d’Airborne Systems s’adaptent facilement aux servomoteurs de classe pyrotechnique et électromécanique commun à tous les systèmes de récupérations. Autres produits d’Airborne Systems spatioqualifiés.

Les contrôleurs d’Airborne Systems volent au quotidien dans des avions dotés de systèmes de récupération en cas de vrille et de décrochage pour le compte de nombreux clients. Ces systèmes de contrôle sont à la fois des dispositifs pyrotechniques et des servomoteurs. Les systèmes d’essai (BIT) sont constitués d’un système de sécurité d’essai de vol amélioré et d’un dispositif d’entretien du système réduit entre les vols.

En outre, les clients peuvent compter sur les connaissances d’Airborne Systems relatives à la conception du contrôleur de système de récupération pour financer leurs propres conceptions. Nos connaissances relatives au système d’intégration BIT, au système de sécurité du dispositif pyrotechnique et aux tests sont mis à la disposition de nos clients s’ils désirent voir les modèles de contrôleur et les exigences en matière de développement.

GESTION DU PROGRAMME

Les gestionnaires chevronnés d’Airborne Systems fournissent aux clients une gestion complète de programme s’assurant que chaque programme atteigne les objectifs fixés.

Airborne Systems reconnait qu’une gestion effective des projets est l’un des éléments clés nécessaires pour assurer une exécution réussie de tout projet. Notre équipe de gestion des systèmes spatiaux et de récupération est constituée de gestionnaires expérimentés qui préparent un rapport détaillé du coût, du programme et des performances techniques à intervalle mensuel régulier. Ce rapport du coût, du programme et des performances techniques peut être une méthode en vue d’une amélioration significative du coût.

Airborne Systems utilise de façon routinière des outils de gestion de programme tels que MS Project pour développer un programme de maîtrise intégré et ensuite pour gérer et de suivre les progrès accomplis. Si nécessaire, Airborne Systems peut fournir un contrôle de programme et faire un rapport grâce à un système de gestion de valeur acquise.

Airborne Systems utilise le système d’information et de gestion Syspro qui fournit un suivi des coût ponctuel et précis, des rapports et vérifie l’état des pièces / inventaires ainsi que les fonctions d’achat.

En outre, pour veiller au respect du coût contractuel convenu, le gestionnaire de programme d’Airborne Systems réévalue régulièrement le progrès de chaque article de programme de découpage de projet (WBS) et compare les dépenses en fonction du travail effectué. Ces données sont présentées sous forme d’estimations pour compléter/faire des estimations pour des rapports complets. Lorsque ces données sont combinées au suivi du progrès, le programme de maîtrise intégré permet d’évaluer et de faire un rapport des valeurs acquises.

Airborne Systems dispose d’une base de fournisseurs établis pour financer ses opérations d’ingénierie et de fabrication à grande échelle. Tous les fournisseurs des pièces et matériaux sont évalués suivant les normes établies par Airborne Systems avant d’être inscrits sur une liste de vendeurs agréés.

GESTION DE CONFIGURATION

Airborne Systems dispose d’un programme de gestion de configuration bien établi pourvu d’une documentation rassemblée au cours de 90 ans de conception et de fabrication de parachutes. La commande de configuration sert à gérer toutes les modifications apportées à la conception et à la documentation au cours de la durée de vie d’un produit, depuis la sortie des esquisses pour la fabrication de l’échantillon au dossier de données technique finale.

INGÉNIERIE DES SYSTÈMES

COMPRENDRE LES EXIGENCES DU CLIENT

Airborne Systems conçoit des systèmes extraordinaires pour chaque projet, fournissant des services de valeur aux clients à partir du processus d’ingénierie de système bien que contenant des coûts inutiles.

CAPACITÉS PRÉDICTIVES INCOMPARABLES DE L’INDUSTRIE

Les outils d’ingénierie de système notamment le programme de maîtrise intégré / plan de maîtrise intégré, conforme aux spécifications, suivi de validation et évaluation des risques sont pris en compte dans tous nos programmes.

En plus du développement des spécifications internes des textiles, pièces et équipements, le processus d’ingénierie d’Airborne Systems propose des plans relatifs aux essais programmatiques, des rapports d’essai, des matrices et des rapports de vérification finale.

Des programmes d’ingénierie de système plus rigoureux comme des mesures de performance technique, le suivi des éléments de risque / base de données, et des bases de données relatives aux exigences de spécification à plusieurs niveaux sont utilisés tel que requis par la taille du programme ou lorsque le client l’exige.

CONCEPTION MÉCANIQUE

CONCEPTION MÉCANIQUE

La compétence en matière de conception mécanique d’Airborne Systems englobe la conception des pièces mécaniques et les mécanismes, ainsi que la conception des dispositifs pyrotechniques.

PIÈCES ET MÉCANISMES

Les pièces en métal et les mécanismes sont des éléments clés pour tous les systèmes de récupération. Ils comprennent des raccords en métal intégrés à la structure du parachute, des servomoteurs, des structures adaptées aux interfaces du véhicule du client, la compartimentation du parachute et l’intégration des commandes et servomoteurs de classe pyrotechnique.

Le personnel d’Airborne Systems a une expertise en matière de conception mécanique de ces composants essentiels. Les ingénieurs d’Airborne Systems travaillent avec des outils de gamme variée en vue de l’analyse du stress, notamment l’optimisation linéaire, non linéaire, topologique et topographique.

ESSAI DE PRODUIT

ESSAI DE PRODUIT

Les capacités d’essai d’Airborne Systems sont uniques dans l’industrie. Les ingénieurs d’Airborne Systems maîtrisent pleinement tous les aspects d’essai de produit allant des essais de couture aux éléments d’assemblage à travers des essais de soufflerie hautement complexe et supersonique. La base d’expérience et de connaissance d’Airborne Systems s’assure que les essais sont conduits avec la précision nécessaire pour confirmer que la performance du produit respecte les normes fédérales. Les essais concernent :

ESSAI DE TRACTION

Les machines d’essai de traction contrôlées par ordinateur d’Airborne Systems sont capables de tester les fils à coudre les plus fins jusqu’aux éléments de traction les plus haut de gamme. Cet essai est également utilisé pour la couture des parachutes et les essais d’assemblage pour confirmer et vérifier les hypothèses émises dans notre processus de conception et d’analyse.

ESSAI DE VOL ET QUALIFICATION DES SYSTÈMES DE PARACHUTE

Les essai de vol et la qualification du système de parachute d’Airborne Systems restent imbattables dans l’industrie. Les ingénieurs d’Airborne Systems conçoivent et conduisent régulièrement des essais de vol de parachute avec des charges utiles d’un poids allant de 2 lb à 7 500 Ib. Airborne Systems peut configurer toutes les propriétés de poids ou de masse requises. Les équipements d’essai d’Airborne Systems concernent les parachutes programmables, des coupes temporisation et séquenceurs électroniques permettant aux ingénieurs des systèmes spatiaux et de récupération de procéder à des essais de plus haute précision possible. L’équipe d’experts d’Airborne Systems procède à des essais de largage d’avion de tout genre, notamment le contrôle de la zone de largage, les masters de charge et les sauteurs d’essai. Airborne Systems a également une expérience confirmée en matière de collaboration avec bon nombre d’agences gouvernementales dans la conception et la réalisation des essais de largage avec des charges utiles ayant un poids de 42 000 Ib.

Airborne Systems assure les essais dédiés et les installations de largage dans de nombreuses villes pour accueillir et répondre aux différentes exigences des clients. Les supports de mesures d’essai type sont : les vidéos, les photos et le tableau de bord (charges, pression, altitude, accélération et GPS). Les modifications et les améliorations relatives à la conception sont faites sur le site et sont considérées comme le développement continu du produit d’Airborne Systems. Les tableaux de gréement et de conditionnement sont également placés sur le site pour faciliter l’entraînement et le développement des procédures. De nombreux avions de livraison sont disponibles pour des essai de parachute, notamment le Twin Otter, le Skyvan, le B-25, le C-123 et le L-39. Les véhicules d’essai comportant une gamme variée de charge utile sont disponibles et font partie des essais de parachute et de qualification. En fonction des exigences, de nombreuses zones de largage disponibles se situent à Eloy, Yuma, et Kingman en Arizona et Lake Elsinore en Californie.

ESSAI DE LARGAGE D’AIRBAG

Les ingénieurs travaillant sur les systèmes spatiaux et de récupération sont des experts en matière d’essais adaptés et à grande échelle des systèmes d’atterrissage reposant sur l’utilisation d’airbags. Les installations destinées à l’essai de largage local sont disponibles pour effectuer des essais sur des modèles de véhicule adaptés et à grande échelle de charge 7 500 Ib compte tenu de la géométrie du véhicule. D’autres installations sont disponibles pour les véhicules lourds et de grande taille pouvant avoir une poids compris entre 50 000 et 60 000 Ib et une sonde à grande échelle / géométrie de l’avion.

 

Les ingénieurs d’Airborne Systems sont pleinement compétents en ce qui concerne la mise à l’échelle des résultats relatifs aux essais et les lois de mise à l’échelle appropriées. Airborne Systems a publié des comparaisons détaillées entre les essais gradués et les simulations à grande échelle.

SYSTÈMES D’AMERRISSAGE

Airborne Systems est expert en systèmes d’amerrissage, notamment l’entrée directe et l’atténuation d’atterrissage par airbag pour l’amerrissage. Les ingénieurs travaillant sur les systèmes spatiaux et de récupération s’y connaissent en matière d’exigence relatives aux essais à grande échelle et l’application des essais d’une échelle de pression pour l’entrée à l’eau, la flottaison et la stabilité après atterrissage.

ESSAI ENVIRONNEMENTAL

Airborne Systems effectue de nombreux essais afin d’évaluer l’impact environnemental des composants et des systèmes de récupération. Les essais de qualification concernent :

  • Les chocs et les vibrations
  • Thermiques
  • Vide
  • Thermique/vide
  • EMI/EMC
  • Atmosphères explosives
  • Sable et poussière
  • Brouillard salin
  • Environnement pluvieux
  • Essai d’impact

ESSAI DE RÉCEPTION

Les ingénieurs travaillant sur les systèmes spatiaux et de récupération ont une parfaite maîtrise du développement et de l’exécution des essais de réception d’un composant ou d’une pièce spécifique. Les tests sont effectués et corrigés avec le client pendant l’exécution du programme. Les procédures et les articles d’essai également importants, sont généralement maintenus et mis à jour tout au long du cycle de vie du produit. Les essais supplémentaires sont généralement requis pour des nouveaux produits résultant de la mise à jour d’un essai de réception, nécessitant des observations plus poussées des fonctionnalités du produit au cours des années à venir.

ESSAI D’INSTALLATION

En cas de besoin, Airborne Systems fournit des installations détaillées et des procédures de vérification. Ces procédures sont souvent finalisées sur le terrain lorsque les ingénieurs d’Airborne Systems achèvent l’installation des équipements dans l’avion ou sur le système. L’installation du système de récupération, les procédures de vérification et les instructions d’emballage détaillées sont achevées par les techniciens pendant le processus de formation directe.

 

Une assistance de plus d’un an, comprenant une réponse de classe « Aircraft On Ground » (avion immobilisé) est disponible pour les clients désireux d’obtenir ce niveau d’assistance.

ESSAI DE SOUFFLERIE

Les ingénieurs d’Airborne Systems conçoivent et paramètrent de nombreux essais de soufflerie allant de la vitesse à bas régime aux essais grandeur réelle effectués dans la soufflerie Ames de la NASA grâce au essais de modèle à échelle supersonique dans la soufflerie transsonique d’AEDC.

COLLECTE DE DONNÉES

Airborne Systems utilise des outils de collecte et d’analyse de données très fins. Les véhicules d’essai d’Airborne Systems sont généralement dotés d’ordinateurs de terrain pouvant capter de nombreuses chaînes de données avec des fréquences pouvant atteindre 5 000 Hz ou plus. Un largage actif type nécessite 3 accélérations d’axe, des charges de levage, une pression pilote / statique, une inclinaison de véhicule, une position GPS et une vitesse. En ce qui concerne la procédure de largage, une caméra est installée à bord pour filmer les événements de déploiement. En général, les données collectées peuvent être examinées dans un intervalle de deux heures d’essai.

GRÉEMENT, EMBALLAGE ET SUPPORT TECHNIQUE

Airborne Systems assure un gréement complet du parachute et une capacité d’emballage qui comprennent des tableaux d’emballage, les directions de vol pour emballage sous pression et une capacité d’autoclavage. Ces capacités permettent d’emballer sous pression les systèmes de décélérateur relatifs aux densités de stockage de classe mondiale. Les tableaux de gréement peuvent être configurés pour fournir un fonctionnement clair de plus de 280 pieds de longueur de table permettant de gréer et d’emballer les plus grands parachutes.

SPACE AND RECOVERY SYSTEMS

ENTRY, DESCENT AND LANDING SYSTEMS (EDLS)

Delivering Technology, Innovation and Solutions

Overview

Integrated System Solutions

Airborne Systems is the undisputed leader in the design and development of Entry, Descent and Landing Systems (EDLS) for space applications. From Human Spaceflight applications to Planetary Probes; from Parachutes (Ballistic & Ram Air) to Inflatable Aerodynamic Decelerators (IAD); and from Mid-Air Retrieval (MAR) to Landing Attenuation & Flotation Systems, Airborne Systems has extensive experience with space applications.

Unmatched Technical Skills and Innovative Capabilities

Airborne Systems engineers bring unmatched technical skills and innovative capabilities to provide deceleration system solutions ranging from submunitions, personnel, cargo delivery, air launch, and large spacecraft recovery to aircraft spin and stall recovery systems.

Airborne Systems provides the most extensive range of engineering services to enhance the final product.

EXPERIENCE

Space Systems

Space Systems

Since the early days of the U.S. space program and the development of the recovery system for the Discoverer XIII reentry capsule (the first man made item ever recovered from orbit) Airborne Systems has been at the forefront of Entry, Descent & Landing System (EDLS) development for space and high...
Learn More
Air Systems

Air Systems

Airborne Systems has extensive experience and expertise in a variety of applications related to aircraft safety and effectiveness, weapons delivery and delivery of personnel and cargo to the warfighter. Aircraft applications include spin and stall recovery systems for flight test, aircraft escape systems – ejection seat and walk around, and aircraft...
Learn More
Inflatable Systems

Inflatable Systems

We have developed a wide range of inflatable products starting with production of hundreds of thousands of BSU-85 Air Inflatable Retarders in the 1960’s to the recent development of large scale Inflatable Aerodynamic Decelerators (IADs) for NASA. This experience provides a significant capability to design, analyze, develop and fabricate inflatable and...
Learn More

CAPABILITIES

  • Fabric Design
  • System Analysis
  • Control Systems
  • Program Management
  • System Engineering
  • Mechanical Design
  • Product Testing
  • Rigging, Packing and Product Support

Fabric Design

Fabric Design

Fabric design is central to all of our product development.  Our engineers are experts in the design and specification of fabrics including broadcloth, tape, webbing, cords, ropes and coated fabrics.  Airborne Systems is also expert in the joining of all classes of fabrics to create efficient structures for these dynamic fabric-based parachute systems.

Our Space and Recovery Systems engineers work with all modern fibers, and constantly track emerging technologies in fibers, fabrics, film, scrims and coatings.

System Analysis

System Analysis

System Analysis

Multiple structural and dynamic simulation capabilities are an integral part of the systems approach utilized by Airborne Systems to provide the best solution to our customer’s requirements.

Airborne Systems utilizes the Altair HyperWorks suite of engineering codes, and maintains numerous LS-DYNA licenses.  Airborne Systems has pioneered the use of LS-DYNA to perform parachute Fluid Structure Interaction (FSI) simulations.

Parachute Trajectory Modeling and Simulation

An extensive analysis capability exists within Airborne Systems to reliably predict parachute system performance.  MIDAS (Multiple Independent Decelerator Analysis Simulation) is the Airborne Systems developed, industry leading, 6 DOF recovery system trajectory and loads analysis code.  MIDAS is grounded in decades of parachute system testing and includes all of the higher order terms of parachute deployment and inflation including:

  • Time dependent parachute drag area, including highly nonlinear responses
  • Parachute apparent mass growth during inflation
  • Cargo/payload aerodynamic terms
  • Variable atmospheres, Earth or off-planet
  • GRAMM wind profiles
  • Integrated Monte Carlo scripts for system stochastic assessments

Control Systems

Whether for test, demonstration or production flight, Airborne Systems controllers integrate easily with the pyrotechnic and electro-mechanical class actuators common in recovery systems. Other Airborne Systems products have been space-qualified.

Airborne Systems controllers fly daily in aircraft spin and stall recovery systems for many customers. These systems control both pyrotechnic and servomotor devices. Test (BIT) systems have both enhanced flight test safety and reduced system maintenance between flights.

In addition, customers can count on Airborne Systems knowledge of recovery system controller design to support their own designs. Our full knowledge of BIT integration and pyrotechnic device safety and testing are available to support our customers’ controller design and development requirements.

Program Management

Airborne Systems experienced managers provide customers extensive and thorough program management ensuring each program meets identified objectives.

Airborne Systems recognizes that effective project management is one of the key elements required to ensure successful execution of any project. Our Space and Recovery Systems team are experienced project managers who prepare a detailed report of cost, schedule, and technical performance on a regular monthly basis. This cost, schedule and technical performance reporting can be a method to achieve significant cost improvement.

Airborne Systems routinely utilizes schedule management tools such as MS Project to develop an integrated master schedule and then monitor and track progress. As required, Airborne Systems can provide program control and reporting using an earned value management system.

Airborne Systems uses the Syspro management information system which provides timely and accurate cost tracking and reporting, as well as parts / inventory status and purchasing functions.

In addition to tracking against the agreed contract cost, the Airborne Systems program manager regularly reassesses progress against each work breakdown schedule (WBS) item and compares the expenditures against the work completed. This data is presented via estimate to complete / estimate at complete reports. These data, when combined with the progress tracking and the integrated master schedule allows earned value to be assessed and reported.

Airborne Systems has an established supplier base to support its engineering and large-scale manufacturing operations. All suppliers of parts and materials are assessed against Airborne Systems requirements before being entered onto an approved vendors list.

Configuration Management

Airborne Systems has a well-established Configuration Management program, documenting over 90 years of parachute design and manufacture. Configuration control is used to manage all changes to design and documentation throughout the life of a product, from the initial release of sketches for sample manufacture to the final Technical Data Package.

System Engineering

Understanding Customer Requirements

Airborne Systems applies extraordinary levels of system engineering to each project, delivering value to customers from the system engineering process while containing unnecessary costs.

Predictive Capabilities Unmatched in the Industry

System engineering tools including integrated master schedule/integrated master plan, specification compliance, validation tracking and risk assessment are included in all of our programs.

In addition to the development of internal specifications for fabric, parts and equipment, Airborne Systems engineering process also includes programmatic test plans, test reports, final verification matrices and reports.

More rigorous system engineering programs such as technical performance measurements, risk item tracking/database, and multi-level specification requirements databases are used as required by the size of the program or when directed by the customer.

Mechanical Design

Mechanical Design

Airborne Systems mechanical design expertise includes design of mechanical parts and mechanisms, as well as design of pyrotechnic devices.

Parts and Mechanisms

Metal parts and mechanisms are key parts of all recovery systems. These include metal fittings in the parachute structure, servo actuated devices, adaptive structures to interface with the customer vehicle, parachute compartmentation, and integration with pyrotechnic class controls and actuators.

Airborne Systems staff is expert in the mechanical design of these critical components. Airborne Systems engineers work with a wide range of tools for stress analysis, including linear, non-linear and topology and topography optimization.

Product Testing

Airborne Systems test capabilities are unique in the industry. Airborne Systems engineers are fully versed with all aspects of product testing from seam and joint element testing through highly complex, supersonic wind tunnel testing. Airborne Systems experience and knowledge base ensures that tests are conducted with the precision required to validate product performance to federal standards. Test capabilities include:

Tensile Test

Airborne Systems computer controlled tensile test machines are capable of testing the lightest sewing threads up to the highest tensile elements. This test capability is also used for parachute seam and joint testing to validate and verify assumptions made in our Design Analysis process.

Flight Testing & Qualification of Parachute Systems

Airborne Systems flight testing and parachute system qualification is unsurpassed in the industry. Airborne Systems engineers regularly design and conduct parachute flight tests with payloads ranging from 2 lb up to 7,500 lb in weight. Airborne Systems can configure any required weight or mass property. Airborne Systems test equipment includes programmer parachutes, time delay cutters and electronic sequencers that enable Space and Recovery Systems engineers to conduct testing at the highest fidelity possible. Airborne Systems experienced team conducts all aspects of aircraft drop testing including drop zone control, load masters and test jumpers. Airborne Systems also has proven experience working with a number of government agencies in the design and execution of drop tests with payloads up to 42,000 lb in weight.

Airborne Systems maintains dedicated test and drop facilities in several locations to accommodate and respond to various customer requirements. Typical test measurements include video, photo and on board instrumentation (loads, pressure, altitude, acceleration and GPS). Design enhancements and modifications are made on site as part of Airborne Systems continuing product development. Rigging and packing tables are also on site to facilitate training and the development of procedures. Several delivery aircraft are available for parachute testing including Twin Otter, Skyvan, B-25, C-123 and L-39. Test vehicles with a wide range of payloads are available and utilized as part of the parachute test and qualification. Depending on requirements, several drop zones are available with locations in Eloy, Yuma, and Kingman Arizona and Lake Elsinore, California.

Airbag Drop Testing

Space and Recovery Systems engineers are expert in scaled and full-scale testing of airbag landing systems. Local drop test facilities are available for testing of scaled and full scale vehicle models to 7500 lb depending on vehicle geometry. Other facilities are available for larger size and weight vehicles up to and including 50,000 to 60,000 lb weight class and full scale spacecraft/aircraft geometry.

Airborne Systems engineers are fully versed in the scaling of test results and relevant scaling laws. Airborne Systems has published detailed comparisons between scaled testing and full scale simulation.

Water Landing Systems Testing

Airborne Systems is expert in the testing of water landing systems, including direct entry and airbag landing attenuation for water landing. Space and Recovery Systems engineers are fully conversant in requirements for full scale testing and the application of sub-scale testing for both water entry and post landing flotation and stability.

Environmental Testing

Airborne Systems conducts a full range of environmental testing of components and recovery systems. Qualification tests include:

  • Vibration and Shock
  • Thermal
  • Vacuum
  • Thermal/Vacuum
  • EMI/EMC
  • Explosive Atmosphere
  • Sand and Dust
  • Salt Fog
  • Rain Environment
  • Impact Testing

Acceptance Testing

Space and Recovery Systems engineers are fully versed in the development and execution of acceptance tests for a specific component or part. Tests are developed and reviewed with the customer during program execution. Equally important, the procedures and test articles are typically maintained and updated over the life of the product. A new product that requires additional tests typically results in an update to the acceptance test, resulting in further observation of that product feature for future years.

Installation Testing

As required, Airborne Systems provides detailed installation and checkout procedures. These are often finalized in the field as Airborne Systems engineers complete equipment installation on the aircraft or system. Recovery system installation, checkout procedures, and detailed packing instructions are completed with the operator technicians during a hands-on training process.

Out year support, including an “Aircraft On Ground” class response is available for customers that require that level of support.

Wind Tunnel Testing

Airborne Systems engineers design and operate a wide range of wind tunnel tests ranging from low speed to full size tests in the NASA Ames tunnel through supersonic scale model testing in the AEDC Transonic Tunnel.

Data Collection

Airborne Systems employs the finest data collection and analysis tools. Airborne Systems test vehicles are typically instrumented with field computers collecting multiple channels of data with rates up to 5,000 Hz or higher. A typical instrumented drop will measure 3 axis accelerations, riser loads, pilot/static pressure, vehicle inclination and GPS position and velocity. The drop also includes an on board camera to film deployment events. Data collected is typically available for review within two hours of the test.

Rigging, Packing and Product Support

Airborne Systems maintains a full parachute rigging and packing capability that includes packing tables, rams for pressure packing and an autoclaving capability. These capabilities allow pressure packing of decelerator systems to world-class packing densities. Packing tables can be configured to provide a clear run of over 280 feet of table length allowing the largest parachutes to be rigged and packed.